Mickey Mouse paintings by Floyd Gottfredson

I recently got an auction catalog from 1993 that showed 24 Mickey Mouse paintings by Floyd Gottfredson which had been commissioned by a collector named Malcolm Willits.

Lots of extra background on Gottfredson (interviews, analysis) and a great quote about collecting:

“If you look at your collection as an investment, it would be better if you purchased stocks and bonds.”

“I didn’t even think about the future value of my collection. I liked it for what it was.”

….even though what he collected ended up being worth a LOT, that wasn’t the driving force behind his collecting.

This pretty much sums up my relationship with my own collection…

http://comicspectrum.com/By Fans who Love Comics For Fans who Love Comics

About comicspectrum

The goal of ComicSpectrum is to provide a one-stop reference for everything about & related to comics and comics culture.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.