Chase/Variant Follies: Araña, Conan, & Medusa

VariantsI’ve gone on record as saying that I’m not a fan of the possible effect chase covers can have on the industry, but at the same time, there are some damn cool covers out there and I will pick them up when I love the art, mostly AS art.

Some older variant covers I got in the mail as part of a larger back issue order (on the cheap)…Great art!
Araña #1 by Joe Quesada
Conan #31 by Mike Mignola

I passed these up the first time around due to the jacked up price, but seeing them around cover price way farther down the road?  I’m in!  These are from 2005 & 2006, before they were giving the 1:25 (or whatever) ratios on chase covers, so I’m not sure how rare they are.  Maybe they were common variants at the time, if someone has better info on this, leave a comment or drop me an e-mail.

Manara_Medusa
Second up is a 1:100 chase cover from this week.  The Milo Manara chase cover from Inhuman #1 featuring Medusa.  I love Manara’s art and have been picking up these chase covers when I can (so far I’m only missing the Black Widow one, I believe).  Fortunately, my LCS owner is pretty decent on pricing chase covers so I don’t get hit too hard on these.  But this bottom line applies: if you are happy paying the price for a book purely as a piece of art to display you’ll never go wrong.  I don’t buy these as investments.  Medusa is going on my spinner rack right now!

Bob Bretall: bob@comicspectrum.com
https://comicspectrum.com/ Covering the full spectrum of comics culture

ComicSpectrum Comic Blog Elite  Follow ComicSpectrum: ComicSpectrum Twitter ComicSpectrum FB

About comicspectrum

The goal of ComicSpectrum is to provide a one-stop reference for everything about & related to comics and comics culture.
This entry was posted in Chase Covers, Comics and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

