Bob’s Mailbag: Anyone want a 300 lb bronze Uncle Scrooge statue?

largescrooge3.signing

While I’m not a household name, I don’t exactly have a low profile either.  I operate a web-site and have been featured in a number of articles about my collection.  As a result, I get contacted every now and again by people who either:

  • Want to talk to me about comics – Unfortunately they generally only want to focus on the $ value of comics.  I’m into it for the love of the medium, the stories, and the characters.  I have so far refused interviews that just want to focus on how much stuff is worth.
  • Want advice about selling their comics collections – Again, we’re back to that pesky “Comics = $” thing…  Plus, since I never sell my comics, I can only give really broad/general advice about watching out for stores that will low-ball you, doing your research to pick out the valuable stuff and sell it individually on eBay or at auction, stuff like that.
  • Want to sell me something – This falls into a couple of categories:
    1) Comics that I already have (and are usually fairly common for people who know where to look and, believe me, I know where to look)
    2) Comics that VERY EXPENSIVE “key” books – I’m usually not interested.  There are plenty of places where I can buy key books for top dollar.  I am usually more of “bide my time and look for a bargain” kind of collector anyway.
    3) Interesting ephemera related to comics – statues, toys, and other strange stuff.

It’s e-mail from this very last category that interests me the most, I love seeing cool stuff, especially stuff I have never seen before and/or nev3er knew existed.  Today an e-mail hit my inbox today with the most interesting/unique item I’ve yet seen (see picture above), accompanied by the following:

Your collection of all things comic is quite impressive. After visiting your comic room, I wanted to reach out to you with an item that may be of interest.

Carl Barks Scrooge McDuck, life-size bronze of “This Dollar Saved My Life at Whitehorse” 1/1. This masterpiece was created back in 1994 for the Disneyana Convention (see attached photos).

Here are the dimensions and weights:
* Scrooge – Bronze (signed in gold by Carl Barks)
Height : 45 inches
Width : 32 inches
Weight: 300 lbs.

* Base – Two inch granite: 34 inches squared and extends 1 inch on all sides.
Weight: 200 lbs.

Wow!!  This is undoubtedly the coolest thing anyone has e-mailed me about so far.  I have no idea what I would do with it and I know I can’t afford it.  Heck, shipping costs alone would run more than I’d likely want to spend; the thing is huge, it weighs 500 lbs if you include the base

If I was going to spend the kind of money this thing would cost, I’d buy a copy of Amazing Fantasy #15.
…and don’t ask what it’s selling for… I don’t even know what the asking price is.  It falls into the category of “If you need to ask the price, you cannot afford it”.

BUT…  I like the fact that people send the e-mails.  It gave me the opportunity to see this thing (and Carl Barks signing it, how cool is THAT?)

Bob Bretall: bob@comicspectrum.com
https://comicspectrum.com/ Covering the full spectrum of comics culture

ComicSpectrum Comic Blog Elite  Follow ComicSpectrum: ComicSpectrum Twitter ComicSpectrum FB

About comicspectrum

The goal of ComicSpectrum is to provide a one-stop reference for everything about & related to comics and comics culture.
This entry was posted in Bob's Mailbag, Collecting, Collecting History, Comics Collection and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Bob’s Mailbag: Anyone want a 300 lb bronze Uncle Scrooge statue?

  1. danaka says:

    thank god there’s people like you who don’t treat comics as stocks and appreciates what the really are

Leave a Reply

