Guinness World Record attempt is ready to roll!

Whew!!!   It’s over now……   Now it’s a matter of gathering up the evidence, witness statements, and pulling together the film/photographic evidence and sending it off to Guinness.   The total # of comics was: 89,613

Remember, the record I’m going for is the World’s Largest Privately Owned Comics Collection.  Something owned by a pure fan of comics, not someone who is in the business of buying/selling comics and thus has a large collection as an adjunct of their business.  Also, no duplicates count.  These are all different comics!

IMG_5858 IMG_5859

I had over 40 people show up throughout the day, fans from the ComicBookPage podcast, folks from the Eleven O’Clock Comics podcast community, people who were at my session on Building Your Comics Collection at the Long Beach Comic Con last week, and a lot of the folks from the UC Irvine Doctor Who club.  A lot of people stayed for several hours to chat about comics, eat pizza, and browse through the collection.

IMG_5851 IMG_5850

I gave tours to lots of folks, performed the “trick” (quite a number of times) of finding any named comic by looking it up in the database & then going to pull the appropriate box out of the 320+ and produce the named comic within a matter of minutes.

IMG_5868

One of my expert witnesses (Michael Hamersky, who runs a comics sales/marketing blog) used to be an accountant & auditor and he did a really thorough job of ensuring I had all the boxes claimed on my inventory and also doing a number of spot checks including doing full manual counts of several random long boxes pulled from the collection to ensure the counts matched what I had in my database.

IMG_5863

In the end I gave away 5 1/2 long boxes of “extra” comics, an estimated 1400 comics!!!!!   An average of ~33 comics per person.

IMG_5862 IMG_5867

I only got about 2 1/2 hours of sleep last night, I was up until 4:30am getting the final data scrub completed on my database & getting my pivot-table (presenting the data in an easy-to- use format) to work on the data export that I had in Excel 2010.

It will likely be several months before I get any definite decision from Guinness, but I’m well on my way!

Bob Bretall: bob@comicspectrum.com
https://comicspectrum.com/ Covering the full spectrum of comics culture

ComicSpectrum Comic Blog Elite

About comicspectrum

The goal of ComicSpectrum is to provide a one-stop reference for everything about & related to comics and comics culture.
This entry was posted in Comics Collection, Guinness World Record and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

