WonderCon 2014: Sketch Covers

Harley_Zahler

I love to get at least a couple of sketch covers “filled out” at every comic convention I attend and WonderCon 2014 this weekend was no different.  I got 3 done at this con.  Once thing you should do is be aware that many artist’s commission lists fill up quickly so you need to try to get to them early in the con (before Saturday if possible, for a 3 or 4 day con) and as early in the day as possible.  I also like to match up artist’s whose style goes well (in my mind, anyway) with the characters that I’m asking for.

My 1st cover commission was for Harley Quinn by Thom Zahler (of the fabulous indie series Love & Capes).  He’s also doing a lot of work with “My Little Pony”, but Love & Capes is his work that captured my heart years ago.  Heck, I even attended the wedding of the Abby & Mark and was drawn onto the cover of an issue!  When Thom realized there was a blank back to this one, he said he just HAD to fill in in!  Who am I to complain, he did a great job on Harley and Ivy!

Harley_Ivy_Zahler

Up second was the fabulous Tone Rodriguez.  I have quite a few sketch covers from Tone and no disrespect to the other fabulous artists that I have gotten art from over the years, but Tone is probably my favorite sketch cover artist.  He knocks it out of the park each and every time.  This time he tackled Ghost Rider…  What do you think?

GR_Rodriguez

For my 3rd sketch cover I hit up the wonderful artist Anthony Diecidue, he did the art on one of my favorite indie series of the past few years, Moriarty (that came out from Image, written by Daniel Corey).  I’ve gotten commissions from him before, one of my favorites was Holmes and Moriarty, but this time I turned to more traditional super-hero fare and asked him to do Daredevil.  I love the dynamism of the pose he chose to do!

DD_Diecidue

So, the next time you see those blank covers at your comic shop, pick one up!  Then bring it with you to Artist’s Alley at your next con!

Bob Bretall: bob@comicspectrum.com
https://comicspectrum.com/ Covering the full spectrum of comics culture

ComicSpectrum Comic Blog Elite  Follow ComicSpectrum: ComicSpectrum Twitter ComicSpectrum FB

About comicspectrum

The goal of ComicSpectrum is to provide a one-stop reference for everything about & related to comics and comics culture.
This entry was posted in Collecting, Comic Cons, Comics and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to WonderCon 2014: Sketch Covers

  1. Pingback: WonderCon 2014: An Aptly Named “Wonderful” Comic Convention | ComicSpectrum – Bob's Blog

Leave a Reply

